Un-employment

“And finally, why do you think that you should get this job?”

I did not care much for the man’s answer, I knew it would be forced and heavily rehearsed. It was difficult to look at him without feeling slightly nauseous; he had a pinstripe suit which harbored a clean white shirt with a black silk tie. Overall he gave off a space aged look. He showed himself to be well groomed and on his nose there was a pair of heavy rimmed rectangular framed glasses perfectly balanced, that fitted in with his sharp jaw line and pronounced cheek bones. It made me uneasy to look at.

When he walked in to my office he brought a fresh quality to the air around him, and looked at me. When I met his eyes he smiled and that was when I decided I did not like this guy. I know he did not mean to but he let his guard slip, and I could have sworn I saw some pity there. It made me sneer at him behind my mask of potential employer, I kept thinking; ‘So you think you’re so much better than me do you!’

As expected his answers were so full of himself, “India” this and “helping the poor” that, just added to the bad taste at the back of my throat. The only other person to interview was some sweaty old woman, she had come bundling in, she had said that she was not completely sure what the job was, but I assume she was joking. In fact, she was because I laughed.

The man brought me back to the room when he finished talking. I caught the end of what he was saying and it had something to do with his time spent with underprivileged inner-city children, and how this experience helped with his perseverance and ability to communicate with other people. I nodded and pretended to note something down. I then smiled and pulled a handkerchief from my pocket mopping my brow, pausing a few seconds.

“Ok, thank you very much for your time; we will give you a call in the future.”

He stood up as did I, we shook hands, and he looked straight into my eye just as before. I quickly looked down to my desk, fully recoiling back into my chair. I tried to disguise the wince on my face with a smile but it came across crooked. I caught myself in the reflection of my kid’s photo and let my head fall when he stepped out of the room. A sobbing sigh was next to come from me before I straightened up.

The company did not seem like they needed more employees. I thought of this man being at work here. He wouldn’t fit in, if I did not employ him I would be doing him a favor, he would probably only quit after a few weeks to go on another of his trips abroad. The woman was the logical choice as she would fit in and be loyal to her work.

I picked up the phone and punched in the numbers.

“Mrs. Jacobs?”

“Yes?”

“This is Devon plastics. I would like to inform you that we have decided to award you the position of assistant manager.”

“Oh… thanks.”

“For the job interview that you came to on Wednesday.”

“ok.”

“You start on Monday?”

“Monday’s not good for me.”

“Tuesday?”

I heard a grumble before the phone went dead; I placed it on the hook. I was expecting a better response, maybe I made a mistake. I picked the phone up and waited a few seconds before dialing.

“Mrs. Jacobs, yes it’s me again from Dorset plastics, I’m sorry there has been a mix up. Due to cut backs we can not hire you, I am sorry for the inconvenience.”

I heard a sigh down the phone.

“Ok.”

Then she hung up.

I smiled pleased with my work and started to look for the man’s details. They were not there.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by willowbatel on January 7, 2010 - 8:09 am

    Is this a short story or did this actually happen? You need an about page.

  2. #2 by willowbatel on January 7, 2010 - 8:12 am

    Oh sorry, I saw the tag clearly indicating what this was as soon as I clicked submit. But an About page would be helpful. That way people would know whether you wrote short stories or not without having to sound rude. (Sorry if I do come off as rude, it’s late and I’ve got lots to be doing at the moment lol)

Leave a Reply

