Better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all..

As I write, I write in mourning. In mourning of what could have been, of what might have been and heavily reminded of the fact that we aim too high. Cast aside by a young German side that, it pains me to say this but, deserved their victory. Matthew Upson and John Terry failing to resemble anything that starts to look like a defence. Throwing ball after ball away for German goal kicks. Before the game it was said that due to the lack of experience Germany would be the more wasteful team with possession and it’s just not the case.

Just like a lover looking back on a failed relationship I can just about struggle to see the positives, and with them heavily being outweighed by the damning negatives like the defence and the score line.

Like a lover I see where things could have changed, the point where we lost our way (Frank Lampard’s beautiful strike crossing the line and being disallowed by the South American linesman), and as I sit with my tub of ice cream I can see where we can learn from these mistakes; finally bring in goal line technology, change to a modern, more adaptable manager one who isn’t afraid to try something other than 4-4-2.

Change is the most important thing England, as it’s not me it’s you, it really is and you have the potential to win these tournaments and make other teams cower at your presence. Now, like a recently single man I will have to set my sights on something lower as we have been divorced from the World Cup, maybe the Euro, although Germany will still be there.

https://i1.wp.com/www.mediastorehouse.com/image/Paul-Gascoigne-in-tears-in-the-1990-World-Cup-Paul-Gascoigne-of-England-burst-into-tears-after-defea_63719.jpg

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Chris Ross on June 27, 2010 - 9:15 pm

    Great blog you got going here and a very well written article! I think it was brutal to see the Germany-England game go the way it did. Also, you think you check out my post cuz I really wanna hear your opinion on my thoughts. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/lampard-non-goal-didnt-matter-are-you-kidding-me/

  1. World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

