Would you call yourself English or British?

https://i1.wp.com/i.telegraph.co.uk/telegraph/multimedia/archive/01425/andy-murray_1425839c.jpg

New sport, new tournament. Since England’s world cup hopes are non-existent, I am going to turn my attention to Wimbledon; a tournament deep within the English culture and currently being played in the sunniest of conditions (for once). Whilst all the other British players are out Andy Murray is the last Brit standing, our number 1 by quite some distance.

However this leaves me with a little bit of a problem as I am normally quite nationalistic with my sports. Although England is only a part of the country of Great Britain, I feel that when it comes to international sport England becomes a country by itself. We follow England football, England cricket and England rugby union, so understandably I feel strongly towards the English teams. When it comes to Andy Murray, a proud Scot, someone who even rejects England, I still want to support him in the tennis, but I can never do this 100%. He is still British and the closest we have to an English player that can win the tournament (and I do believe this year is his year) and the most succesful British male tennis player ever to play, but he has been born on the other side of Hadrian’s wall.

The subject gets even more complicated when I say that I support the British Olympic team, and have no frictional feelings when supporting the British hockey team or even the Rugby league side. But I believe that this is because there are no alternatives, I am not just supporting one man and one personality.

Formula 1 is a similar sport in the sense of everyone on the track is racing for themselves and are individual sportsmen. I obviously support Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton for Maclaren as they are the heart of he English pride. Unfortunately I was too young for Formula 1 when David Coultard was racing but I’m sure I would have had the same sort of problem, do I become a British supporter, or stay an England one? Maybe I should just support who I can as it does make a tournament more exciting, but then again the feeling of disloyalty resurfaces.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

