The Joy of Spurs

I have seen baseball in San Francisco, basketball in Los Angeles, and foot ball in Buenos Aires, Rosario, Weston super mare and Yeovil. But I had never been to a premiership football match. On Saturday I went to my first one: Tottenham Vs. Wolves at White Hart Lane. I was in the Park Lane stand, equipped with my brand new spurs scarf and a passion for spurs football. Everyone there is friendly and happy to talk about their favourite club and pass time.

Despite the Jewish holiday of Yom Kippur the stands filled up in the minutes before the players took the pitch. The crowd took to their feet as the match started and the chants followed suit, along with the occasional ‘wanker’ shouted at the Wolverhampton fans in the corner.

To stay in the favours and to pretend I knew a lot about what I was watching I said the safe things that you can about a football team; ‘never a boring one nil with spurs is it..’ and ‘Robbie Keane just isn’t what he used to be.’ Wolves were the first scorers in the match, and to my surprise, it hurt to see them score, especially when you heard the brummy cheers dominate the stadium.

Of course when we equalised it was much more satisfying, with Van der Vaart slotting the penalty won by Al Hutton. The next chant to arise was ‘YID-O’ to the Dutchman’s achievement, as the spurs fans embraced Tottenham’s roots in Jewish culture.

By the end of the match my voice was hoarse and my spirits were high as we had won 3-1 thanks to Al Hutton fluking one in the back of the net. The newest chant was ‘1-0 and you f*cked it up’ . As I squeezed through hundreds of relieved North Londoners I felt like we had been through it all and I felt part of the collective unit that is premiership football. Coming from that game I can finally understand why people look forward to the weekend and why it means so much. To be a part of this is a privilege and something I would be more than happy to be included in again as it is truly unique and something I highly recommend.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

